Chapter 1: I walk down the street…

Chapter 1: I walk down the street there’s a deep hole in the sidewalk. I fall in. I am lost. I am helpless. It isn’t my fault. It takes forever to find a way out.

Chapter 2: I walk down the same street. There is a whole in the sidewalk. I pretend i don’t see it. I fall in again. It’s not my fault. It takes a long time to get out.

Chapter 3: I walk down the same street and there is a deep hole in the sidewalk. I see it there, and I fall in. It’s a habit. But my eyes are open and I know where I am. It’s my fault and I get out immediately.

Chapter 4: I walk down the same street. There is a hole in the sidewalk. I walk around.

Chapter 5: I walk down a new street

― Portia Nelson, There’s a Hole in My Sidewalk: The Romance of Self-Discovery

 

Leave a Reply

